Working with people who have college degrees vs those who never went to college?

Highroller107

Have you ever been at a job where you had to work with people who weren’t college educated vs those who have experienced college life? Does it even matter when it comes to their personal demeanor and topic of conversations?

Yes- I'm a pharmacist in a hospital. The pharmacy team consists of around 100 members of staff- say 30 pharmacists like myself- for whom it took 5 years to qualify and an MPharm degree. Then we have technicians- who have different skills based on the courses they have completed- overall it can take 4 years to be the highest level through a distance learning package that the my work on a few hours a week whilst working and on the job training. And then assistants- who basically just need to have finished school and then they get on the job training.

We also have a stores dept within ours who visit wards and check their stock cupboards to see what they are low on based on a stock list- then they go and get it. They don't even need to finish school with any grades for that.

The dept can be very split because of this when it comes to who you sit with at lunch and chat to. Even among pharmacists. Band 6 pharmacists stick to each other like glue- Band 7 pharmacists have recently broken the barrier with 6's mainly because most of us were 6's not that long ago. But senior 7's (the ones that never aspire any further progression) keep to themselves. And Band 8 pharmacists can often act like they are "god" and talk down to those lower.

The thing is we all need to work together and while I could theoretically do everyone lower than me's job, I have to focus on my part and I need their help.

I have a really good working relationship with people in the dept because I learn names, ask after people and I will often get more help if needed than others who are not as friendly! I'm probably the only pharmacist who has ever had lunch with people from stores!