Harrasment/lack or respect

Hi guys,

Just came here because I could use some thoughts and I really needed to vent as well.

I am a female department manager at a retail store. Last Sunday, Really early in the morning I had a male employee agressively smashing things around, screaming and shouting at me (cursing and all) so I sent him home. I had mentioned it to my store manager (i was upset and crying when i spoke to him )

And he said he would speak to him not to involve HR. Later on that same day I had sent my boss an email saying I wanted the incident investigated and HR involved telling him I no longer felt comfortable around this employee.. The next day I wrote my statement and handed it to my manager. Once again telling him I wanted this sent to HR asap. I took the following two days off work and when I had returned to work asked my manager if he had spoken/ dealt with this employee yet he stated that he still had not said anything, continued to back the employee up saying he is a hard worker and a good guy. I called HR myself at this time and they came in the next day. We both gave statements. Fast forward 2 days and today I had told my manager once again I felt uncomfortable and he said well you’ve worked with him for 5 years why now? I then asked him if he has pulled up the camera footage of him throwing things around yet and he stated that he has not. I am at a loss right now I feel totally disrespected by my boss now that I feel like quitting my job. I feel so disrespected. I am not sure if I should quit or ask for a transfer but its gotten to the point where I am sick to my stomach and dont even feel like going to work anymore. HR is still investigating

Thanks for any input you guys can share with me

Based on your description, I wouldn't be comfortable either. Forget your boss, have you expressed these feelings directly to HR? They should be part of the solution...

Mr. Lucky

• Like 1
  • Author