Apprenticeship to full-time job

JustGettingBy

Hello LS. Long time no see.

I'm currently an apprentice at a company that I really like and its within my field. I enjoy the work, am mentored well by the boss, I like the workplace culture, the office is in a good location, etc. I feel like when the apprenticeship is over, I would love to work here. I was wondering how to bring this to the attention of the employee who's overseeing the apprenticeship (the company president). Should I ask if there's interest in them hiring me when its done, state my interest in the company, or something else?

Thanks.

You've skipped over one very important thing - how have you performed? Completed all the tasks assigned you? Been on time every day for work, haven't missed any days? Gone above and beyond when needed? Stayed off your cellphone and avoided the other modern pitfalls?

Many companies use one or more apprentices every year so you'd want to make sure you were top of class. If all that is in play, nothing wrong with having a copy of your resume ready and presenting it at the end of your time. Though he didn't accept it, my son was offered a position by the finance firm at which he did his apprenticeship. Hope it goes well for you...

Mr. Lucky

• Author
JustGettingBy
You've skipped over one very important thing - how have you performed? Completed all the tasks assigned you? Been on time every day for work, haven't missed any days? Gone above and beyond when needed? Stayed off your cellphone and avoided the other modern pitfalls?

Many companies use one or more apprentices every year so you'd want to make sure you were top of class. If all that is in play, nothing wrong with having a copy of your resume ready and presenting it at the end of your time. Though he didn't accept it, my son was offered a position by the finance firm at which he did his apprenticeship. Hope it goes well for you...

Mr. Lucky