Job interview- up against friends

Penguin_hugs

Hi there,

I'm a pharmacist and I applied for a more senior speciality job within the hospital I already work at, and found out I have an interview next week!

I'm excited because I currently have a junior rotational position and the area I have applied for is my absolute dream role. I had this rotation 8 months ago and loved it. I had really good feedback from nurses, and senior pharmacists within the speciality etc.

However, I have just found out that the only other applicants for the job- were internal- and 2 of my friends... both of them have had the rotation after me so I guess they will be more familiar with current practise etc.

The 3 of us are currently completing a university course on top of working and regularly travel together for this. I hang out with one of them outside of work etc too.

How do you approach interviews- and more importantly- afterwards... when you know you are up against friends? We didn't discuss that all 3 of us were applying- I had a feeling that 1 would, but the other seemed to always be interested in a different speciality!

I also have to try and prepare for this interview and not blow the opportunity. Currently my head is all over the place with a family crisis- and I've been given an extension for the next submission of the uni course- so I'm not overly at my best!

It's pretty normal, I wouldn't let it affect you. The SO competes against his friends for specialty applications every year, they're all still friends.

All the best!

• Like 1

I guess this will be a chance to determine if they’re work friends or real friends. If the latter, and you get the job, they’ll be happy for you...

Mr. Lucky

• Author
Penguin_hugs

So my interview was yesterday and I thought it went well- but I didn't get the job. The interviewer said it was the toughest panel she'd ever been on- and that there was 1 point separating the 3 of us- so I shouldn't feel like I gave a bad interview.