I cried at work and I’m really beating myself up over it.

Okay, so I work in marketing for a small company. Today I got scolded for the first time and it was via email. The owner of the company accused me of doing an aspect of my job wrong and he was quite harsh via email about it, his tone was a bit belittling. I knew that I did nothing wrong but it still got to me and I cried a little at my desk. No one actually saw me crying but when my supervisor walked by my desk I talked to him about the situation. As I was talking to him, my voice once again kept cracking and it almost felt like I was going to cry again right in front of him, but I didn’t. After reviewing the emails with me, my supervisor agreed that I was in the right and that I did nothing wrong. However, I’m super embarrassed that he saw me like that. I don’t handle authority figures talking down at me very well and my tears were mostly due to frustration but I still feel unprofessional. I just don’t want my supervisor to think I’m weak or super-sensitive (even though that might be the case). Any advice?

Don't beat yourself up over it. This will pass.

The next time you are in a situation whereby you can't handle yourself emotionally, get up and go to the restroom, let it all out and get yourself together.

Yeah, you're going to have to toughen up to compete in this world on an equal level. You are going to experience many people who will challenge you. You have to learn how to handle it without getting emotional.

You're in no way "weak" for having an emotional reaction to an a-hole who doesn't know how to communicate properly. HE is weak for not knowing how to constructively bring an employee's attention to an area he feels needs improvement.