Software disaster! Advice Welcomed!

I am a recent graduate and started working at my current position about 6 months ago.

When I first started I was under the impression that there was a new section/building being prepared soon were I was going to move with the co workers on my team. This meant that I would be getting a new desk and computer.

Until then I would work on a temporary desk (a laptop). I used the temporary desk to do my work until I would move to the new area. The laptop I used at the time did not edit pdfs so I decided to place an order for a software that would let me do that. I figured that once I got to my new desk that I could install the software there since this desk was only going to be temporary.

When one of my co workers went on maternity leave so I was given her desk and computer until she comes back (or another high ranking person on our team takes my place). This means that I get to use her computer for my work and it has the ability to edit pdfs. I haven't heard anything more about the new space being built at all since during this time.

I am not sure what to do. It has been a few months since I put in the order (in October). The IT department keep emailing me when I would like to install it. I told the IT department that I would tell them when I would be sitting at my permanent desk but months have passed, I am not sure if I am going to get one at this point or when that is going to happen.

I am not sure what to do as I am going to be at my current desk until march (maybe), as that is when the person who went on maternality leave comes back or if they higher someone that is higher ranking. I am scared to tell my superior as I didn't think I would be that this desk for so long (I thought it was only a temporary thing to be at this woman’s desk). I am not sure what to do.

I am very nervous about it. I think these things have licensees that expire? I am not very tech savy to be honest.