How to get a passing grade with a bad professor and with possible depression?

I have been taking a course with a bad professor with struggling with possible depression (I haven't been formally diagnosed but if you have been following my threads well you know the deal)

I have been a pretty strong student academically so the grades I have been getting have been surprising me.

I have been mentally struggling a bit so it has been hard for concentrate specifically when my mind has been struggling to focus.

I have one exam and 2 finals for the next class. I so far have a B- in the class and would like to get at least a B.

CautiouslyOptimistic

A tutor? When I was in college I had to take two accounting courses and I am not inclined that way at all. I had a classmate tutor me to help me just PASS :).

• Like 1
thefooloftheyear

Just do your best....You are young...Maybe after you get through this semester, you can take a break from your education to get your life in order...It may be for only a semester or maybe a full year, but people take breaks from their education all the time for a variety of reasons....No one would fault you for it, and I see no reason to add to your stress..

TFY

A combo of the following:

1. meeting with the professor to discuss expectations & the material

2. join a study group

3. get a tutor

Even if the professor is not a good instructor, you still need to master the material.

• Like 1
  • 2 weeks later...

See if your uni/college has a pastoral section which offers study skills/workshops and take up any that might help.

Gen up on plagiarism and never risk it.

Pay attention to the recommended reading list and ask your Prof to recommend which are the most important books to read.