health insurance stress

The number one thing I have been stressed about lately is health insurance. I have worked at a small office for ten years now and health insurance is no longer offered. I buy my own single plan.

Well - - In 2018 my premium is increasing 73%!!! Of course, I will shop for a different plan but I know that means it will have an outrageous deductible. I am not one that goes to the doctor often and I am a healthy person, but I would like the security of having good health insurance.

I live in a small, rural area with not a lot of job opportunities. When I do apply for jobs, I have absolutely no luck. I have been applying around here for two years now. I don't want to move because I love the area (my hometown) and I own my house.

Has anyone ever been in this situation? Do I stress too much about health insurance? Do other people worry about health insurance?

Financial stress is awful. It manifests in different ways for people. Yours is the costs of health insurance. There are no easy answers.

Consider doing things to improve your income -- like PT job, driving for Uber etc. That may get you the funds to pay the increase.

UpwardForward

It can be done, and to not have to go to the doctor. Unless you think there is a strong chance you will contact cancer.

When I was about 60, I lost over $3000. I was so mad at myself, I cancelled my health insurance. I more than recouped that $3000. Then at 65 I was able to get medicare.

I'm now 76 and (for the most part) don't even use my medicare, except for a few minor skin cancers.

CautiouslyOptimistic

I hear ya. I've been self employed for five years, and have seen my premiums and deductibles sky rocket. I no longer have health insurance.

Look into healthcare sharing ministries. It's what I'm doing. And you don't have to pay the penalty for not having health insurance if you have it. Mine is $150/month.

• Like 1

Indeed they do have stress. I started a thread on it seven years ago: