I am in shock! Just learn my office burnt down!

I have just had a phone call telling me an air conditionning caught in fire in our offices and the part that wasn't burnt was flooded by sprinklers and firemen. It's a total loss.

I am so in shock! I have been working there for 15 years! We are 2 days away from fiscal year end! Apparently our Server (database) was saved but all pc, printers, scanners, monitors and all documents - gone. It will take a week just to suck the water out....I am lost for words.

I have to attend a family dinner in a couple of hours and my mind isn't there at all. First thing tomorrow morning I will head there to assess the situation which is desperate anyway you look at it.

I have important govenment deadlines on the 31st. I will not be able to meet them, I doubt if I can. I have never been in a situation like this before, can the government take into consideration that type of agravating situation?

these sort of extenuating circumstances happen all the time, i'm sure the govt will cut you some slack. i'm so sorry for you r loss gaeta. things will be ok but it will take some time. make sure to document everything

• Like 1

I'm so sorry. Yes people will take the fire into consideration re: deadlines. You can't do the impossible.

• Like 1
  • Author

I just spoke to our CA and he told me to file Tuesday even if my report isn't complete. This way I will avoid late penalties. It will generate a notice of assessment and I will be given an additional deadline to complete the missing info.

He said if I explain our situation they will need proof, pictures, police reports, cleaners reports, insurance reports and I will be getting myself in a big nighmare with no end. I tend to beleive him.

The building maintenance people sent me pictures. Documents are floating all over. :(

Edited by Gaeta