This job sucks and I want out

[backstory]

My boss is a fool and this job uses probably only 1/10th of the skills I have and went to graduate school for, and doesn't pay very well either. But it's taking me a little longer than I thought it would to find another job after I finished my masters. I would love to quit, tell my boss this job sucks and I want out, but I've got a mortgage to pay. Has anyone ever been in this awful position? How can I stay patient with this situation???

Edited by a LoveShack.org Moderator
Add link to backstory

Does this mean you are willing to go on interviews again? that is your way out but you said you needed to take a break because the interviewing process was wearing you down.

So which do you hate more: Interviewing or your Boss / job?

• Author
Does this mean you are willing to go on interviews again? that is your way out but you said you needed to take a break because the interviewing process was wearing you down.

So which do you hate more: Interviewing or your Boss / job?

Compared to working here, interviewing doesn't seem so bad. I've actually picked up a book about interviewing just so I can tell these hr folks the pre-packaged answers they want to hear. I wish there was a better process for candidate selection though.

• Like 1

I don't know what you do -- and I'm not asking -- but have you ever considered going the entrepreneurial route -- opening your own business & being your own boss? Most professionals can turn what they do into a consulting gig.

• Author
I don't know what you do -- and I'm not asking -- but have you ever considered going the entrepreneurial route -- opening your own business & being your own boss? Most professionals can turn what they do into a consulting gig.

I've thought about it but I feel like working for myself is kind of a pie in the sky aspiration.

Go to the library & read some books about being self employed. I like Birthing the Elephant; Who Moved My Cheese & the E-Myth Revisited.