So upset for firing an employee

Veryconfused12345

Hi everyone,

I was wondering if I could get an outside opinion from the lovely people on this community?

I'm fairly new to management and hired three employees on behalf of my company about 3 months ago. Unfortunately one of our hires just wasn't working out - he fought with several other long-time employees, blamed others when projects went badly, went missing from work a few times, etc. We did give him warnings and offer support but it just wasn't working.

I have had a lot of support from the team here and deep-down know this was the right decision. However I've felt sick with guilt and anxiety all week. At my most paranoid I'm scared of retribution but I also just feel terrible for having to do this. The alternative was to let him stay in the org to avoid confrontation and have him continue to upset coworkers and make mistakes which I knew would just create low-level tension indefinitely.

Any thoughts on this, has anyone had to deal with this experience as management? I've really wound myself in to quite a state thinking about this and have frankly, found the whole process one of the worst experiences of my life and I don't want to hurt anyone.

Being the bearer of bad news is never pleasant but you have to do what is best for yourself & the company, which means firing him.

Grit your teeth & do it. Remember this person was the master of his own fate. His bad behavior led to this result to this result not you.

• Like 5

It's time to do it. 3 months or 90 days is the standard probationary period. Tell him you're sorry it hasn't worked out and that it's for the same reasons he's been warned about in the past and not fitting in.

• Like 1
  • Author
Veryconfused12345