How do you deal with millenials?

Hi all:

I'm a software developer in my mid-50's looking to move into management. In my last couple of interviews I've been asked how would I deal with millenial coders under my supervision. My answer is that I get along well with them because we've worked together at the same level for the past few years and I feel I have earned their trust and respect.

I reckon that employers that ask that question are clueless. Granted, these are software developers with talent, but I don't see them too different from other millenials working in other industries.

Can anybody suggest answers to the question? Am I the clueless one?

Thanks,

I'm a mid 50's employer. Old school very hard working and self made. I can tell you I'm clueless how to effectively manage such a self entitled "me" generation and make a profit. I've recently been through attempting to restaff some positions and shake my head at the state of where things have gotten.

• Like 3
  • Author
I'm a mid 50's employer. Old school very hard working and self made. I can tell you I'm clueless how to effectively manage such a self entitled "me" generation and make a profit. I've recently been through attempting to restaff some positions and shake my head at the state of where things have gotten.

Thanks for your reply. If I may ask, if you were looking for a supervisor to such millenial staff and asked the same question, what would be an acceptable/credible answer? Or would you look for an "old millenial" (30-37 y/o) to fill the position?

ChatroomHero

In my experience I feel in management to be successful you have to cater to employees strengths and not expose their weaknesses.