maddylovesdogs

Hi all,

I recently started a new job, I worked as a hardware engineer before and now in my new job my boss wants me to start programming more. I'm having a lot of difficulty coping with the stress of learning a new programming language and having to use that in projects for work. I feel like I'm slipping at work and my boss is not happy with my work.

To top it off they sent me overseas to south east asia on work related travel. My personal experience as a woman engineer, se asia is not a great place to work. I'm not saying everyone in se asia treats women unfairly/disrespectfully, this is just my personal experience so I'm sorry if I offend anyone, that is not my intention.

This one company in sri lanka where I was on assignment for a week treated me with such hostility! They expected my colleague who is a german man to show up but they sent me instead. This did not go down well with the guy in charge there. He behaved coldly the entire time I was there and after I left sri lanka to go to my next destination he complained to his superiors about the bad service he received even though I got the job done in the alotted time and everything was on schedule. He said he expected the guy but I showed up and that was not what they were expecting.

I know I should brush it off but I can't seem to stop feeling depressed about this. How do you all treat such behaviour at your workplaces? How do you focus on your other work when things like this happen?

Thanks!

Telemachus

You can't control other people's actions, and it seems that you deal fairly well with others' bad behavior.

If you want to stay in your country, not have to do programming, and work mostly with people who treat women well, you may have to go into elementary education, or another field. Consider a career change.