Master's Degree and Depression

I'm a black student at a predominately white university pursing a master's degree. The black student population here is lower than 2% (of 40,000) and it's located in one of the whitest areas in America.

I really didn't understand the lack of diversity until I got here. It makes it especially hard for my work, which is centered around the black experience. My peers often put my work down or dismiss it simply because it's about subject material they're not familiar with.

I'm nearing the end of my second year and I have felt so alone here. I've made a few friends, but it's still a very isolating experience. I have one professor who likes me work but is very ignorant. He's made blackface jokes to me and thinks he knows more than I do about what it means to be a person of color.

Now it has gotten to the point where I just can't deal with this professor's antics. He got upset because I wouldn't debate with him via email and decided to bar me from attending class because he didn't like a paper I wrote.

So now I'm having to have several different meetings with people in the university to resolve the matter so I can return to class. It's just turned into this huge ordeal that's taking up my life. I haven't had time to clean or cook or do my work. and I know this fight is worth it, to help future students he tries to bully, but I am so tired. I'm fighting just so I can stay at this university that I hate. I only have one more year left but it's been such an awful experience that I feel myself potentially slipping into another depression.

I intend to go to counseling on campus but they only offer 6 free sessions with our insurance plan. Idk if it will help, but I'm just mentally and emotionally spent. I wish I had never come here. idk if anyone's experiences anything similar, but I just had to vent.

JstarTheCat