Hi LS folks,

I am back on LS after a long time. I guess the reason I am back is because I have no one really to discuss my struggle. I am from an Asian country with middle class back background. The thought in this part of the world is that the higher you study; the better opportunity you will encounter. I gave this small introduction to understand where I am coming from.

The big problem I am facing is with the career. I have a PhD in a Science subject (not to brag about), which I completed almost 2 years back. I did this because of my love for the subject and in the hope that future could bring better possibilities. After returning to my home country, I am just struggling to find a stable/proper job. I am doing the kind of jobs that require graduation with a pay enough to survive.

I have tried to apply for International open jobs/postdoc's and scholarships/fellowships but the competition is overwhelming. Today, I hit rock bottom with rejection of one more grant. I don't know what to do? I guess I am not looking for a specific kind of answer. Still any advice is appreciated. Thanks.

International scholarships/fellowships in desirable countries are CRAZY hard to get. There are very few spots for very many applicants, and it takes some luck in addition to excellent grades to get them. And 'open jobs for internationals' - forget it. If you don't already have a work visa for that country, your chances of getting a job are close to nil.

Why did you return to your home country after graduating, if there were no jobs for you there? If your PhD is from a different country, you would have better luck getting further grants if you worked there after graduation and obtained residence first, so you don't have to compete with other international applicants. Did your qualifications not entitle you to apply for an temporary open work visa or residence?