Question for Sales People

Maybe not for those in Retail (?) but please do chime in if you can help.

I work in a company that sells stuff and I work as a Management Accountant so I look at revenue. cost, margin and basically feedback on the profitability of the UK business.

We have several sales teams, some who are solely for leads we follow up or the smaller businesses or people who require our services off their own back. We also have bigger customers who we deal with al of the time and their accounts are managed by various people and teams. We do projects and also we are the 'go to' for several very large organisations.

Something we run into often, not by any means with all of the sales people but often with maybe a handful or so of the sales folk is that they don't understand the words 'revenue' and 'cost'.

I have tried explaining multiple times in different ways but as to date today I still get the opposite of the information I need and ask for (as do another department).

The ways I have explained this in the past are: (and by the way in the main the sales people mostly know any that any queried pricings do not include tax so in general we are only talking net figures here)

Revenue = sell price

Revenue = the price we are charging the customer

Cost = buy price

Cost = our buy price

Cost = the cost to us

Cost = the cost to 'the name of our company'

However, I know that wordings can be misconstrued in business often.

Do any sales people understand what I am asking and can you advise me on perhaps different terminology that I can use to explain the difference please?

If it helps, this is my breakdown:

Revenue figure minus cost figure equals margin (or profit) amount in £'s

Then margin (or profit) divided by revenue equals margin in percentage.

Maybe express Revenue as Selling Price?

And Cost as Production Cost or Acquisition Cost?

Ugh - I don't even work there and I am frustrated that there are people who don't understand basic business terms!