Whether to apply for a promotion

I have to decide by tomorrow at 5:00 (Monday) whether to apply for this promotion.

I am a lawyer in a mid-size firm. Very high-caliber lawyers, all of my colleagues are good at what they do. I am too, and I'm well-trained by the firm.

I am in the first "step" of my employment. I am the most "senior" in that position by a slight margin. Two lawyers who were hired just after I was, are both very competent and have done more cases than I have. Which I explain below:

I have spent the last few years in a bad marriage, then pregnancy, new baby as first-time mother, and then stressful divorce. My work is good, but my productivity has always been low. And by "last few years," I mean basically the entire time I've worked here. I have certain abilities that I know stand out, but because my production has been low, I do not feel that I have had the same level of experience as some of the lawyers who are less senior.

At my performance review I was gently told that I should spend 2015 showing that I could meet the production goals of the firm.

So all that makes me think I'm not all that likely to get the promotion this time around. (There are two openings.) I'd like to show that I am self-aware, not overly entitled, and I'd rather not sit through a painful interview if I'm really off the mark in applying.

But also:

I know I could do it, and I am the most senior at the bottom level. It's less than a 5% pay increase at first, but significantly higher pay after 2 years. Even the initial increase would mean a lot to me as a newly single mother. And so would the vote of confidence.

But also: