"Tell me about yourself"

The title above is probably one of the hardest questions I ever encounter when doing an interview. I just got word and am set to do an in-person interview in the next few days, which would be for my dream job. I'm looking for insight on how to best answer this question and if you have been in the hiring process, what type of answers are you looking for when you ask this. Thanks!

• Like 1

Usually this means you tell them your interests as far as your career goes. For example, I've said "I am a recent college graduate with a major in business management, I am looking to gain experience in x, y, z or I have x many of years of experience in x, y, z and looking to further my career because of x, y, z." Hope that helps. Remember to sound confident!

I think this depends on the company culture a bit; if they are more "old fashioned" you should probably answer by summarizing what your CV already says, however if they are more "creative types" (e.g. google) you might need a more original approach.

• Like 1

Every time I've had this question asked of me, the employer wanted to know ABOUT ME outside of the work situation. They wanted to know what my interests were, what my hobbies were, etc. I had one employer say that he really liked getting to know potential candidates as people while also screening for job qualifications.

You can start off with your educational background, and your work experience, but this is the "blah blah blah" that tends to make people zone out and get glazed eyes. Especially since the employer should already have a copy of your resume and has already read these things, and it's why you're on the interview in the first place. When you sit down for the interview, you also hand them a fresh copy of the resume just in case they misplaced the first.

Who are you as a person? Why would you be qualified for that job? What made you apply with them?