So I am a recent college grad looking for a full time job. A couple months ago I got some job teaching theatre to kids part time. When I started there I was brought on only on Saturdays. The teacher they had for during the week never showed up. They constantly kept calling me to fill the classes but I could not. They do eight week sessions at a time. They always need me to commit to future sessions way ahead of time so they can have enrollment for students which is understandable. It just stinks because i am booked up every Saturday and never get one off, especially if something comes up like a family function. They have the hardest time getting staff so I am it. They have other programs like music and singing but those teachers can't teach my profession. I needed one Saturday off and it was like pulling teeth. I eventually had to tell my boss Karen that I physically wouldn't be there. She found a substitute. The sub is teaching this upcoming weekend and then I am committed to seven weeks after that of Saturday's. Karen told me she was talking to someone else about teaching and was going to hire her too to take the load off me and offer more class times.

Karen is already having me commit to January sessions. It's only the end of October. And she wants me to work Saturdays and some weekdays but still part time starting January I can't live on that with no benefits and working weekdays in the middle of the day conflicts if I do get a full time job.