Made a Mess (Long Post)

Hi everyone,

I'm currently an admin asst. for a sales dept. I've been in admin for nearly 8 years snow and am very good at it. I guess I don't know how to sell myself or whatever because I can never seem to get opportunities that pay properly for my level of proficiency and experience.

So...when I interviewed for my current position at the start of 2013, I was told that I would have lots of growth advancement/opportunity very quickly (like 8 -10 months) into a manager or HR position because that's what I want to get into. Like a fool I trusted this ambiguous pretty picture and took the job for less than what I made at my last position.

A year later, my hiring manager leaves for another position and the more senior of the two assistant managers at that time gets promoted to the manager position. I've always had good rapport with both of these managers, so much so that they have allowed me to participate in managerial strategies for the department and allowed me to take on projects and duties outside of the scope of my role that are necessary for a manager or HR position (mostly training and performance evaluation of the sales team). This good rapport also allowed me to feel comfortable with being honest about looking for other work or considering leaving, which is what I started considering in December of last year because I could see no growth opportunity for me. I started looking in around April of this year. To date, I've gotten got maybe 2 or 3 interviews and half a dozen responses (rejects), no offers. I'd only been applying online though.