Classroom diss-aster

Okay, so I'm a teacher and I have a student who is almost twice my age. Anyway, I was making my way down the isle when I passed by her and she got startled. This had happened before with other students so I took my frustration out on myself by saying to the student "wow, I'm sorry, maybe I should work at a haunted house". To this she replied "nah, you're not that ugly" and a few people giggled, and there might even have been a "ooooooh" mixed in. I laughed and walked away. I set myself up perfectly for her and made myself look like a clown, now the students who heard it talk to me with a weird look on their faces and a weird tone, as if they are laughing at me. I have yet to talk to that student who shot me down. It's just the beginning of the semester and I have to deal with this. How do I approach her with a straight face?

I guess my biggest flaw is my personality. I hate myself and feel the need to grovel or apologize for myself wherever I go. I need to work on that.

Edited by Eddy Street

As a fellow teacher I can relate to your situation having to deal with sarcastic students. Some times are easier than others, because it all depends on the student and the way you set up the classroom environment as the teacher. Are you strict? Formal? Easily intimidated by sarcastic students with strong personalities? Do you ever use self-deprecation and humor to hook your students attention when they aren't paying attention?

Are you new to teaching or somewhat seasoned? If you're new to teaching, welcome to the classroom! The best way to deal with sarcastic students -- even ones twice your age -- is not to show your students that their personalities bother you.