How to dress for an outing but another ...

mortensorchid

A few weeks ago, I started a new job. I am a teacher, but I do not work for the school where I am assigned to. Instead I refer to it as an assignment, I work for a private company that outsources education needs to school systems because it's cheaper for them to outsource. But I digress...

This Friday we are having an outing. Since I am a staff member, I was invited along. One of the other teachers is in a musical and all on staff are going out to see him this Friday as a surprise. I agreed to it because I think it's important to do such things in this situation, to build positive relationships with your coworkers. And just for the record, I am nearly 40, worked in offices for 15 years, and know what and how people can be totally miserable. At my first ever job, I made a mistake of thinking that my coworkers were actually my friends and was far too friendly with them. An educational setting is a professional one as well, but the vibe is very different. As a teacher, in case no one has ever had the experience, you should dress as conservatively as possible so that no one gets the wrong idea. And I do with long sleeves, long skirts and pants.

So now that we are going to this event, I am going to be dressing down. Does one have a suggestion as to the most appropriate dress down for an outing like this? Now I am not crazy, not going to be all decked out in all the rock and roll heavy eye make up and boast about things questionable. But what is a good means in which to dress? Links to images would be much useful.

Plus, I may be totally off, but I sort of have a thing for this guy we are going to see on this evening. How can I look attractive enough for him to notice yet not too over the top slutty? Or is there such a thing? Or is that too difficult?