Anybody think "behavioral" interview questions are pointless?

Every interview that I've been to in the last 6 months have all been behavioral interview questions. Its always, "Tell me about a time, describe a time" etc, etc, etc. And they always ask, "Describe a time when you a difficult situation you had to face and how did you overcome it?" So, I answer that question as honestly as possible about my current job and that it was difficult to learn a new system at first and after the 6 month learning period, I was a pro at it...that's usually what I say along those lines. Anyway, the person who is interviewing me-the supervisor/manager interrogates me about it and starts doubting if I could do the job that I'm applying for. I'm like wth? They asked that question and I answer honestly. These behavioral interviews are just silly! Like who in the world can ace these questions? They blind side you and you don't even know how to answer them-its hard enough as it is to remember about the past. If they really want to know about my past performance they could call my supervisor and ask them, not ask me 50 of these questions.

They're pretty standard questions, whether we like it or not. Why not have your answer rehearsed and ready. 'Tell me about a time you dealt with a difficult coworker', or whatever.

Just be ready for it.

• Like 1

It's really more about your future performance that concerns a future employer, the questions no matter how silly have a purpose, some are just to get to know the person more personally.. some are geared to look into a persons ability to do the job they are trying to hire for.

We use them at my place of business.. they work and we almost always hire the right person for the job...

We might ask a person who has to deal with clients one set of questions and someone who only has to work long hours with 2 other people another set of questions...