Should I apply for a job for a company that I was fired from years ago?

I've been thinking about applying for a job at this company that I worked at 8 years ago. It's a totally different position, my friend works there, and this position I have some experience with. The position that I had a few years ago, wasn't a good fit, so they fired me. Will they know that I worked there before? Will they have my record?

Most companies will maintain a file on former employees who have been fired. Best case would be if it was a pure "poor fit" decision, as in, you didn't have the right specific skills like accounts receivable. Then perhaps your skills are now better, or the current role needs only skills you have. There is a chance they may hire in that case. If, however, you were fired for lacking soft skills - like showing up on time or cooperating with coworkers - then you're most likely blacklisted from that company.

In a case like yours I think you should call the HR Dept to see if you can be rehired. Every company has their own rehire policy. Always good to get that info. in your exit interview if possible when you leave a company you like, but not the work position you held, in case you want to return.

Some companies HR Depts will list an terminated employee either "rehireable" or "non-rehireable." My friend works in HR for an online university and she told me her company does this to each employee they terminate.

• Like 6

If you were fired for cause -- because you weren't getting the job done to their satisfaction -- do not apply.

If you were fired as part of a reduction in force or for some other neutral reason, go ahead & apply.