Landed a JOB Interview but I have a planned vacation coming up

UltimaWeapon

Hello Loveshack,

I am stuck in a weird situation where I have been aimlessly applying to places after finishing my University Degree in Business in hopes of landing a job in this rough Canadian economy. I am a recent graduate, 23- Male

I have been applying since September 2013 and in January 2014 I bought tickets with my Dad Mom and sister to go back to Europe for vacation to see my cousins, grandma and family for a month at the end of June.

The trip has been paid for and everything has been set many months in advance; I haven't been back since 2010 so this trip means a lot to me.

During this time (knowing I have a vacation coming up) I still decided to apply to jobs because you never know what can happen. I wasn't able to get anything from January til now...until today I was contacted for an interview. It is at a private marketing firm for a really nice job that is in line with my degree. It is a contract position Full Time from June-September and has the option of becoming LONG TERM after.

I knew this would somehow happen ...now the question is what do I do? The interview is scheduled for next week and I have no clue on what to do. I really want the job because this would be a terrific opportunity. I am leaving June 28th for a month so I was hoping IF I get the job to work up till when I leave and then in August when I come back and they could extend me through September.

Should I even bother going to the interview and see what they can offer and if they can accommodate me?

AND

If I do go on the interview should I even mention the vacation coming up?

Considering this is a 4 month position- it's a big thing to leave out..

I don't want to come across as unreliable and not mention anything until I am offered the position..

Thanks.

Edited by UltimaWeapon

Yes, go on the interview. If/when an offer is imminent, discuss your travel plans and see what you can negotiate.