Need career advice asap! Please give me your opinion

What's better?:

1: A fairly well paying job that u dislike. Mid level position.

2. A low level job that isn't great. Low salary. But it's at a great company with the opportunity to move up.

I work in a mid level position in an office and make a fairly good salary. But I don't enjoy my job and I've been wanting to leave for years. I submitted my resume to a bunch of websites and have received potential opportunities at good companies. However, the jobs are low level and pay a lot less than I'm making now. I figure since I'm trying to make a career shift, I'll have to start from the bottom but I'm not sure if it's a good idea to leave my cushy job for a receptionist like position even if it is at a great company. Also, I'll admit that it irks me to take a receptionist position when I have a masters degree. What do you guys think?

Edited by 90s kid
title

At the age of 32 I made a career change and gave up 70% of my compensation to do so. I was bored, not passionate with my current work. I was working on a 2nd degree at night at the time in a field that I found exciting.

I made financial adjustments to make the change, and within 2 years the money returned and now probably 10X more.

I vote for do what makes you happy, and if they pay is enough, good for you. I think your passion and energy will "bring the money" eventually. I've never been one to chase money, though it does seem to follow me! :laugh:

• Like 5
pink_sugar

What is your current occupation/field of work OP?

I would sit down and make a list if you have to.

Some things to consider are:

Can you afford a serious reduction in pay? If so can you make the necessary adjustments?

Are there opportunities to advance in the near future at these lower paying opportunities?

With your current skill set, what is the average pay you can expect? (There are websites such as payscale.com that can assist you with determining this)