Volunteering Overseas on Resume

International volunteer jobs - The Global Work & Travel Co.

I am a Social Work Student, I want advice about something to do with a future career.

I volunteer already and it is year one of my degree.

I also plan to combine my love of travel with volunteer work.

In a years time I will be volunteering in Africa or South America, looking after orphans and also assisting in community work/projects.

Now I am doing this for me, as a life long organisation I have decided that I will likely use a lot, since I can combine my love of travel AND volunteering in one bang, opposed to doing both independently.

However, if you were hiring a recent graduate for a job in Social Work and Human Services,

Would you look favourably upon a resume that read:

" have volunteered from year one of my 4 year degree"

" Volunteered in Africa assisting community projects"

I am doing this volunteer work irrespective of whether it benefits me, I just want to know what y'all think from an employment perspective.

I don't want to expect it to help me get employment but I think it shows dedication to the field, the fact I am choosing to spend 5K on volunteering must mean I am pretty dedicated, right?

• Like 1

Of course!

If nothing else it makes you look more intresting as a person and someone there more likely to want to chat to on an interview!

• Like 1
  • Author

Well I could have taken the cash and had a work free holiday, but instead I am suffering malnutrition from living on noodles and baked beans on toast ( I am a healthy weight but I often feel ill due to not getting meat or vitamins) Due to saving for this volunteer mission.

So volunteering to me shows that you like the cause enough to spend over 5K on a trip strictly for volunteering. You know, I love seeing the world but I would have seen the world without working during the entire trip.