I hate phone interviews

lucy_in_disguise

Anyone with me on this one?

I hate talking on the phone in general but interviews are the fcvking worst. Especially with HR. I have bombed 3 phone interviews recently and I am so bummed. :sick:

My resume is ok. I usually hear back for positions I'm qualified for. If I can get through the phone interview, it's smooth sailing. In person there is body language, which goes a LONG way in helping me relax. I am a decent writer and if I can relax, I am able those skills to verbal communication.

But over the phone I get so nervous that I develop a fcvking stutter. This does not happen to me in any other situation. WTF.

Anyone have any tips?

• Like 2
HokeyReligions

Breathing exercises. Smile when speaking. Dress as though it were an in person interview. Keep your resume and any other data in front of you. Have a pad and paper ready. Have a list of questions to ask. Be in a closed comfortable room free from distractions. Room temperature water at the ready. And a touch of Bailey's in your coffee.

• Like 3
Secret Advisor

Make sure it is not a "surprise" interview. Schedule an actual appointment. As someone else said, dress up as if you were going to an in-person interview. Put them on speaker and stand up when speaking. Remember that the purpose of the phone interview is to screen you OUT, so make sure that you are emphasizing points that will lead to an in-person interview.