Keeping it Professional

I am a MM, with 2 kids and I am happy with my marriage of 11 years.

My direct report, is Single and is 14 years younger than I am.

I am a manager level person, and I have a direct report that I work with very closely.

I have worked with her the past 1 yr and a half, and managed to keep it professional for the past 15 months, until recently...

In the past 3 months we are slowly getting very close...

We sit together for lunch, we hang out during breaks, we text/call each other constantly on weekends and week nights... And it is to the point that people are starting to see that we are very close at work...

I really would like to do the right thing by distancing myself from her and keep things professional (or go NC)... But its been hard keeping NC, I almost always break NC.:(

We are at the point that if we turn things around now nothing will be ruined... :(

A part of me would like to have an A with her, this part of me I know I need to kill off. :( Please offer me tips how to avoid personal contact and keep things professional. Help! :( Thanks.

Start putting some distance in your relationship.

When the conversations turn to non-work related subjects, change the topic back to work, abruptly if you have to.

Stop the weekend conversations.

Eat lunch with other people . . . or at least add them to your lunches with her.

• Like 2
  • Author
Start putting some distance in your relationship.

When the conversations turn to non-work related subjects, change the topic back to work, abruptly if you have to.

Stop the weekend conversations.

Eat lunch with other people . . . or at least add them to your lunches with her.

Thanks with the tips, I was able to not text her last night, lets hope I keep this up without breaking my streak this time, my longest streak in 2 days... Obviously it takes two to tango, I am getting some sort of encouragement from her, so its up to me to be strong and keep away...