Leaving the family business..

CautiousLoops

My husband's family owns their own home health care business. I've worked there for 5 years (we've been together for 7 years, just got married this fall). In the beginning I worked as a caregiver which I absolutely loved. I love spending time with the elderly and making a difference. Over time and after prompting from my husband and his family, I was brought into the office and started doing administrative work. I have been doing this for the past four years.

I do not like my job anymore. I find it mundane and boring and I wish I was back in the field working with the elderly. I was offered a position to work, privately, for a family for about 20 hours a week. I realize this is tough because since that is our business, some would say Im taking business away (to be clear this family was never a client of ours and does not know my affiliation to the business). I could probably start caregiving again through our business, however the pay is just about minimum wage through our company and they would pay me three times more what our business would pay me - which I am not ashamed to say makes a huge difference.

I am trying to figure out how to 1) talk to my husband (I have tried before and it seems that he feels I am not grateful for the opportunities his family has given me and that I am being unfair, sneaky and unappreciative. He doesn't understand why I am not happy since he says "we can do whatever we want") and 2) talk to his mom, the business owner, about maybe working for a family outside of our business. I don't want to hurt anyones feelings. I do not know if they would let me go part time.