First Real Job=boredom!

I am a recent college grad, age 25. I've always held a job out for a long time. I recently began my first REAL full-time job about 4 months ago. Already, I sort of don't like it. For the most part, it's boring. I have a few routine things and after that I do nothing. I am a receiptionist. The phones aren't that busy. There's nothing much to do all day. I don't feel comfortable shopping online or browsing the web either. It's so dead, i become comatosed where if they do give me something, I've been bored for so long, I'm just "out of it". I'm not saying some days aren't busy and there are never stressful times (nor do I want to be worked to the bone), but it's boring. What else bothers me is many of the people there are foreigners and don't speak my language well at all. Not to mention if I were to move up there, the normal hours are insane! The average person there works from 9:00AM - 11:00 PM! Plus they work WEEKENDS (all day long!). So if I ever move up, it'll go from boredom, to working so hard, I'll never see my loved ones again! I feel stupid looking for another job so early and like a failure and a flake. What should I do? Do I start looking elsewhere?

Ok this may be far fetched, but can you take on more work? Can you take on some advertising or marketing for the business? Find ways to improve the business, run reports, do studies and things like that. Do targets to find our where most of your clientel derives. Do follow-ups. Ask other people if you can help with projects. Offer to help anyone with anything. Clean if you get that bored. They have to know you are bored, and that may not be good. =/ Sorry, I don't know what kind of business you're in...so it's kinda hard.

Just don't let them think you're not an asset to that company!

YellowLioness