Overcommitted

I am in a bit of a mess.

I am a doctoral student and decided that I wanted to be more active this year to get more experience and beef up my resume a bit. Since I am done with most of the heavy academic part I thought I could handle it no problem. So currently, the basic, non negotiable things I have to do include 20 hours per week of work (for food etc), 20-24 hour per week at a clinic for practica (mandatory for school), One 8 hour day for classes, and one individual patient i see at another clinc weekly for an hour.

So, my friend recommended me to be a representative of an organization at school, I agreed as I thought it would be a great opportunity for leadership.

Then my other friend who also works in one of the clinics with me asked me to take on one of her clients, as she is preparing to leave. I agreed to this, but it was a while ago and quite frankly I forgot about it as the issue had not been discussed again for a few months.

Then, earlier this summer I was looking for research experience. I received an email from an outside party about an opportunity so I emailed back and said that I was interested. This is when trouble began.

I mentioned that I would not be in town until August, and asked if we could either talk on the phone or meet when I got back. She said we could talk on the phone no problem. I emailed her about a time and date and never heard back from her. So I figured she may have found someone else.

So given this, I kept looking and found another opportunity, which I took immediately, as it is on campus and with a professor I love.

Well, just as I am settling into the new semester I get an email from the lady I had inquired with about that first research opportunity. She sent the email on a Wednesday, asking me to come to sign paperwork and discuss my scheduly on Friday.