Notes to interviews

What is an interviewer's impression of an applicant bringing notes to an interview? When asked about the company, sometimes I experience a brain fart or have a difficult time carefully planning and remembering what to say. I often find it helpful to carry a notepad with notes as well as questions to ask the interviewer. What do the rest of you think?

My, you sure are actively curious and involved in the job hunt scene aren't ya?

I see no problem with it, speaking from an interviewee perspective. I would think that it signals you are organized prepared. If they count it against you, I would quite honestly say screw 'em.

• Like 2
  • Author

Yeah, this is my first time looking for a job while actively employed and first time looking for real professional work post-college, so I guess I have the luxury of taking my time to screen each job rather than desperately jumping for anything. :laugh:

I see no problem with it, speaking from an interviewee perspective. I would think that it signals you are organized prepared. If they count it against you, I would quite honestly say screw 'em.

Totally disagree....

I would say that if you need notes, you can't remember basic items that might come up in an interview.

To me, it would indicate that in a job setting, you are slow to learn and would constantly need crib notes to do your job.

I think it would be a detriment in an interview and someone else would get the job that doesn't need notes...

• Like 1

And therefore, just like dating, it goes to show that you could pretty much do anything and everything that someone tells you is the "right thing to do", and some will like it while some hate it.