Recent Graduate Next Steps

I just graduated, although I have a few summer school courses to complete. What is your best advice to a new college graduate? Thankfully, I have nearly 2 years of experience I can apply with my degree and I am out looking for a better job. My job doesn't even pay my rent, so I need something better asap. I hear the first year of graduating is critical so you have something to show for yourself.

I would start applying for jobs yesterday! Also, if your resume seems a little flat or antiquated you may need to make some adjustments to that and liven it up, but not too much. There are 10s of thousands of newly recent college graduates who are trying to compete for the same jobs, as well as not so recent grads. So you have to try to set yourself apart from the pack. Use your experiance a lot too. I find that in certain work places you need the degree more or less as a title or something, but in reality it is your prior career experience that really lands you the job. The degree is just the thing to open the door, the experience will get you through the door. So rely a lot on that. Also be patient. Unless you make an amzing connection with a particular HR rep at a firm, you will not hear from people for a few days up to a few months. So just saturate the market with your application / resume. Also, connections help too. If you know someone who can pull some strings somewhere there is no shame in asking them to help!

good luck!

• Like 1

My first question is, why did you wait to graduate to apply for jobs? :) Especially since you have experience! A lot of employers will start looking at you seriously once you're a senior. I got hired full-time a year before I was out of school... so I did both :p

Also, what's the type of degree (AA, BS, etc) and major?

• Like 1