Experience Required (A Rant)

Graduating college in 16 days, so obviously I am in the job search. Well, as much as I would love to find a job outside of retail, becuase that is all I have seemed to have known for my years of working, jobs are very limited. Everyone wants someone with experience. Well yeah, someone with expereince is a great thing, and makes life easier, but waht about those of us with no experience in a particular field? What are we supposed to do? Someone has to take a risk on us so we can GAIN the experience to be able to answer the "experienced people only" ads. GRRR. Its so frustrating. And I have a degree in psychology, which you cant really do anything with unless you get your masters or higher(which I will, in a couple of years, but I have been in school for 21 years, and am in dire need of a break.), so there isnt a whole hell of a lot that I can do in that department. i mean yeah, Im actually doing an internship this summer for psychology, and the place Im doing it at, does give opportunity to place. But why cant someone take a chance on someone with no experience? Becuase somoene has to in order for me to get experience! :mad: sorry, Im just a little frustrated with the job search right now. Speaking of, i should look again tonight, did last night. Anyone else in a similar situation?

Here's what you do. You find an organization that needs volunteers to do whatever it is you want to be doing in your life. Then you give them some of your time. In return, you help people, make more connections, get experience, and every once in a while, even a job.

sportsloving

It is like being told you need a car to work, but to get a car you have to work. Yeah ok.

Moimeme is right, you can volunteer your time and sometimes that will even lead to a job (getting paid for what you did for free, go figure).