Employees with kids/special privileges?

I've worked a few jobs, especially retail, where it seems like people with kids get special treatment over those without kids. A good example is having to work later to clean-up the store...which being able to work late is required of all employees. I had a coworker with a 10 year old and 15 year old who would always make a point to say she needed to leave early to be home with her kids...and she got to leave early. She also lived with her mom...so the kids weren't alone. She would do this excessively and it almost seemed like an excuse to leave early while the rest of us had to stay. I thought it was very unfair. I was a student and I still had to stay and work late despite having class in the early morning. But this woman with teenage children got to leave early all the time. In my opinion...if you cannot perform the hours indicated by the job position...don't apply for the job. There are plenty of people with and without kids willing to work the hours needed to have a JOB. People can have all kinds of reasoning for needing to leave earlier and people with kids shouldn't be treated any differently than those without. You chose to have kids...there shouldn't be any special circumstances. I understood my dad would have to work late all the time...he did what he had to to provide for us, even if he wasn't home all time.

• Like 2

Unfortunately, I think this is a can of worms, pink_sugar. While I'm not unsympathetic because I usually find myself in your position, all I can say is that you might think differently if you were the person with kids who got to leave on time. Then it'll be your turn to throw a, "see you suckers," at the people who have to stay behind.

WhatYouWantToHear