Got screwed outa promotion

I feel the need to vent. Firstly, I've been at my craphole job for 3 years. I got my degree back in august but havn't been able to get a job in my field yet due to the lousy job market.

My bf has been with his company for well over a year (and yes, we live together and share finances). He's worked very hard to climb the ranks. Last week the store manager announced he was quitting. My BF was then offered and accepted the position for when the guy leaves. This of course comes with a large pay increase. We agreed i could quit my job and work on our new house while i keep trying to get another one since the money he'd be making would still be more than him and i make right now.

He's supposed to take over this sunday. Suddenly today, the asst. manager of another store 30min away got wind and is throwing a fit because he wasn't offered the position. He wasn't offered because he is a real ass.. the store manager there doesn't even care for him....

So now all of a sudden, my bf is expected to run the store without the pay or title till a decision is reached on what to do and who to promote.

Just like that.. uncertainty is back. No money. no job title. no advancement. Also means i can tear up the resignation letter i had printed out for my job.

I'm so angry right now... the plans we had made just poof.. gone. NOt to mention if that other guy gets it.. he refuses to stay there and work under him because as i said.. guys an ass....

I just don't see how it can be announced to everyone.. all the other store managers.. his coworkers...the regional manager.. .. him.. that hes getting the promotion and deserves it..that they are putting together his job offer in time for the takeover.... and then "ohhh.. well.. now we don't know.. have to think about what to do now just run the store in the mean time thanks"

I'm angry they treat him like this and im mad as hell i am back to square one with my stressful lousy job.:mad: