How to deal with gossipy co-workers

Alright ladies and gents, I am in need of some input here. How does one deal with gossipy co-workers?

I'll give some background. I graduated with my B.S. in Biological Sciences and have been sending resumes, applying, etc. to jobs in the research fields. I never got a call back from any of the places I applied to and at this point, because I'm pretty confident that I'll get into a grad school by Fall 2011, I just want to find a job that will allow me to save up for future expenses.

My mom was able to find a temp job for me in her workplace that's got absolutely nothing to do with the Sciences. It's a temp job that conducts clerical duties and she's casual friends with a few of the co-workers in the department I'll be working in. I'll call this "cabal" LooseLips. LooseLips have been invited to our family parties and vice versa and I've been pretty averse to these people because of their tendencies to pry into others' businesses, to get involved, and to pretty much gossip about other people's lives. It's easy to get myself out of conversations with them during these parties, but I don't have the luxury of that in the next 3-4 months I'll be working there. :laugh:

Unfortunately for me, LooseLips will ask why I, a college graduate, am working clerical duties. I'm looking forward to use this opportunity to gain the skills in being tactful and gracefully evasive. These people still maintain this naïve thinking that all college graduates will be successful in finding a job in the field they graduated from on the simple basis of having a degree. I'm not that kind of person that will judge another because of the degree they hold, the job they hold down, the amount of money they have, etc. because the measure of a person's success isn't quantifiable in just those categories. Above all, I'm not that kind of person to pry because simply put, it's none of my business.