Hi Everyone,

I am a college senior graduating in a few weeks. I have recently been in contact with a former professor of mine because of a needed reference letter. He proposed that instead of emailing we text and have been doing so off and on for a few weeks now. We talk about our lives outside of school, mostly about our respective jobs and life stress in general. He never says anything inappropriate but sometimes our conversations continue into the early morning hours (2am at most). I was a great student and we had a good working relationship while I was in his class. Is communication of this sort inappropriate? Just curious.

Feelin Frisky

If he's your "former" professor and you are 18 or over, there's nothing "inappropriate" about what you said unless you've told him you don't want his communications and he persists anyway.

• 2 weeks later...
  • 1 month later...
  • Author

I graduated and the conversations have increased. Now he contacts me every other day just to talk and he now asks if he can speak to me on the phone rather than text every now and then. He frequently makes reference to himself as being older and then quickly changes the topic and says something in the form of a compliment toward me, always about my work ethic or intelligence. He also says things like "I am no longer your professor" and made a big point once of saying that once grades are submitted, the semester is over and the student-professor relationship has ceased to exist. He always texts/calls after 9pm and doesn't stop texting until about 2am. However, recently I contacted him concerning an important graduate school question and he does not respond.