How did you end up in your career?

My career is completely different from what my degree is in, so no planning or job shifts here. I took a chance, interviewed for the position, got the job straight out of college and have been working my way up ever since. It's been six years. :)

I have some lines of continuity and some new/unexpected turns. The latter came about by accident/ by getting new opportunities along the way and just grabbing them and allowing them to take me along. If I wasn't getting old, I'd change again - there are so many different things I'd like to work with :)

When I was younger I wanted to be a teacher, because that's what all my friend wanted to be!

When I got to college I discovered I loved psychology and wanted to be a psychologist. Then I realized how much school that would be, therefore I opted to be a therapist and get a Masters. I originally wanted to work with adolescents in a mental health setting, but changed my mind after my undergrad internship. I developed a love for addictions counseling during my graduate internship, and now I work with adults with drug and alcohol addictions.

Backwards, bent over, with a jar of Vaseline in my hand. I never wanted to do what I do, but until I get my ducks in a row, it's mental health or unemployment (which has been over 2 years now).

laRubiaBonita

i have been at my current job for 9 years...... and i was a youngin' when i started.

it was just a matter of being there at the right time, mu sister had told me i should apply because it sounded like the job was what i was alreafy doing, but with good benefits (health, dental, 401K, etc....).

but i never did decide in what i wanted to be/ do when i grew up, so it is fine for now.

I had vague career goals while an undergrad.

Once out of school,

I chased money and status in my first career.

I obtained both but was never more unhappy in my life. It was horrible. I stuck with it for 5 years.