Contribution and compensation

creighton0123

My problem has to do with sustaining dedication in the workplace in an environment that seems so contrary to where I am in life.

For the last four years (post graduate degree), I've found myself settling for positions that I enjoy, but are very much below my technical skill set and paygrade. Despite that, I really enjoy going to work.

However, I'm not sure if I have any reason to be concerned in my current employ.

After I finished my degree, I started working for a fortune 500. My work required complex analysis of C++ designed embedded systems and required form 86 secret security clearance given the software I was working on. Concern for job security pushed me to leave that position (for fear of being laid off) and accepting a position as a services developer for a small (< $30 million) company.

I've been in that job for a year and a half now and there has been zero discussion about increased compensation (pay raise). While the company is doing quite well, things are tight and I don't know how to respond to that. Due to life circumstance and the distance of my commute, I'm finding it harder and harder to make ends meet financially.

I also have no idea how things work with small companies since compensation was always pretty clear and automated in my previous workplace.

Any advice on how to proceed? My first line manager and I get along so very well. I manage an impersonal, albeit friendly relationship with the company's founder and CEO and a number of partners. I do, however, have concerns and any feedback will be brilliant:

1. On a team of 10, I am the youngest person on the team and have the longest commute.

2. In the entire company, I am the youngest employee and have the longest commute.