Career restart at 40

Hello All,

So, I am curious what insight or advice I might glean from all of you. I am 40, male, single, no kids, never married, very well educated, good looking, and not very happy about it. My career appears to have derailed in a industry that is very ageist and I'm looking at backup plans though I would rather not. Also, have about $80k in student loan/tax debt, underemployed, unemployed currently, and just dreading taking on a McJob. Binational, bicultural, alone in a big city away from family who live somewhere that would be very difficult for me to acculturate to, but wary of needing to take care of parents in next few years.

So how did I get here? I guess I didn't know any better, and was too busy having a good time instead doing the right thing at the right time. I got lucky on being admitted to a top university and partied but I graduated, so I wasn't picked up by a top firm. Finally engineered my way into one in NYC but didn't like it. Switched careers at 27 years old to a very nepotistic field in LA and seemed to get some traction. Then became involved with a girl, too involved, and between she and I, I managed to not push forward as I should have. Wound up depressed and isolated at the end of the relationship, my contacts disappeared in the industry upon whom I relied for work, and now, I no longer have the passion to play with the kids to start networking over from scratch. I tried going back to banking and didn't like it. I recently managed a staff of 400 persons so I have the ability but my resume is a mish-mash of Fortune 20 executive trainee jobs and freelance jobs in my current deadend field. It is very hard to get hired with this background. Most people by 40 are at the top of their game having spent a decade in their field.