Dyslexic Dilemma – Law or Accounting?

Hi all,

I just searched for law career forums and found this site – wow! Fantastic! :)

I am currently going back to uni (I have a bachelors and masters in media studies and have worked as a musician, film maker, photographer and teacher, but to be honest, they all pay peanuts! So I have decided to get a ‘real’ job! Lol :) and I am studying a Juris Doctor in Law

Now the questions I am having is that, I have slight dyslexia, and am finding it hard to keep up taking notes and writing at exams, and even though I don’t want a note-taker or a laptop at exams, I did got to the uni counselling services and they have done all sorts of tests on me, and it turns out that I am not dyslexic enough to qualify for a disability, as I still have average reading/writing skills, but they did discover that I am in the top 1% for numerical skills, as well as spatial relations, deciphering codes, finding patterns, etc. – basically any non-verbal or written skill!

So my dilemma is, should I be switching to a career in accounting or something where I can use my natural skills better? Is there a career that actually uses the ability to listen to, remember, and recite back numbers backwards or in ascending order, etc.?!? lol :)

I am happy to continue with law, as I find it interesting, but also worry that I don’t have the vocal confidence that I see a lot of my classmates have , as I am more the quiet, confident type, but am worried this might not be not be a good trait in law – it appears that everyone else is much more ‘on-top-of-it’ than I am...

So any ideas for a career change for some freaky genius with numbers, patterns, codes, spatial relationships, or should I stick with law and hope that I find a niche where I am not put on the spot too much to be as verbal as my counterparts