Fired from retail as a stupid kid, what are my options out of college?

lovebugxoxo

I used to work for a huge retail chain store, and I was a dumb kid and got caught stealing gift cards and giving out coupons. I was fired from the job and had to pay back the money I took.

This was 3 years ago, when I was about to leave for college.

Now, I'm not in the "career" or serious job market yet, as I am still a full time student and planning to go to grad school, but what are the chances that the termination will show up on a background check? No charges were filed, but I did have to sign papers that said I am not available for rehire there.

The chain I was fired from is going through a mass shut down of half their stores, and the managers at the store I worked for no longer work there. Can I use that as an excuse for why they cannot call the chain for a reference?

That isn't my most recent job either, I had one last summer but it was a much smaller, different company that closed a lot of its stores in my area, but I still have the contact information for that boss.

If I just stay out of retail will I be okay? If I were to get a job next summer, I would want it to be more in my future career field, or something secretarial (so not a waitress or more retail or something). Or I would get an internship.

I'm freaking out. Please give me your advice!

Edited by lovebugxoxo

I'm going to guess you were 18 when this happened .

In many states committing a crime at 18 quite different if you were a minor at the time.

I would think this would be in the background check but please consult others here who might know better.

To leave out a job on a resume or application is an invitation to get caught.

The credit check is going to show this employer .

You'reasian

Did someone claim that you stole something or did you actually steal?

If it ever comes up as a serious issue and someone "claimed" that you stole, take a polygraph.

TheLoneSock