I have been flirting with a colleague for about 4 months now. He is higher up the rank than me, but not my direct boss. Well yesterday he came into my office just for a chat, and we ended up talking for about 2 hours. We discovered we had so much in common, and ended up telling each other things that no one else in the office could handle knowing. It definately pushed our relationship to a new level, although the intensity is now electrifying and I don't want things to crash and burn. I have to play it cool, but it is so hard seeing him every day. Also, he's 32 and I'm 21, do you think this is an issue?

If you value your career, NEVER get involved with someone from work, especially not someone in any kind of supervisory position. It will only lead to trouble and could end up costing one or both of you your job.

YOU ASK: "Also, he's 32 and I'm 21, do you think this is an issue?"

Not at all. Both of you are young enough to get jobs at other companies once the recession is over.

God, what a couple of negative posts! I really don't think that beginning a relationship with someone at work is likely to spell the end of my career or a stint on the dole. I personally know 2 friends who have found their husbands through work (not that i am thinking that far ahead). Besides, I am on rotations and will only be on his floor for 2 more months. Does that make a difference? And I want a real answer to the age difference question please.

jessicakicksbut