Received mysterious scathing email from client...

doublescorpio

I am a freelancer in the film editing profession and I often work in the clients' place of work. This is out of convenience to them and necessity. Sometimes due to the technical nature of my job, it is difficult to get my head around their equipment set up as many people have different set ups, and I should become familliar with their set up but I should *not* be expected to be any kind of engineer.

Last week I created a deliverable which upon being tested appeared to be great. Then on an early morning over the weekend I received a scathing email from the big boss to myself and an employee of the company, stating that he has heard to many excuses about a certain technical problem, he doesn't want excuses, wants results etc... the problem has been been happening all the time lately, totally unprofessional and disturbing etc etc

I had no idea what he was talking about. This was the first deliverable I ever created for them and I tested it with a witness in the room (another employee) who also saw it was working. I am a freelancer of the company, not an employee so I don't hear about everything going on in there. I didn't know there was a history of a problem or that people were supposedly making excuses? Shortly after the email arrived I was phoned by the employee of the company as it was also addressed to him, and he was asking me what the heck it was about??? He played dumb and said he didnt know etc but I have a feeling he somehow knows *something* that I don't.

Anyway I wrote the big guy back an email stating that if I knew the history of what the problem may be, I may be able to help, also I told him I had followed a certain procedure and if there was another I should follow I will do so. I have not heard from him since.