Ask to resign???

beautiful_stranger

My situation is a bit complicated. My performance review is very soon. If it doesnt go well, i might get fired. I think my chances are 50/50. However, before the review meeting, I will be meeting up with my manager. I am planning to ask her to ask the boss whether he's likely to fire me, and if so, could he give me an opportunity to resign.

I am new to the workforce. So need some opinion on this. Does anyone consider it in any way inappropriate to request an opportunity to resign knowing you might get fired?

I am new to the workforce. So need some opinion on this. Does anyone consider it in any way inappropriate to request an opportunity to resign knowing you might get fired?

Probably not a hot idea to ask for the opportunity to resign.

Just go through the performance review process. In it there may be things that you'll be asked to improve upon. With your manager, develop a plan with clearly definable goals and timelines on those things and work towards them.

Only if the manager says something like, "This isn't working out, perhaps you should look for a new job," THEN ask for the opportunity to resign rather than being fired.. But don't put the proverbial cart before the horse.

If your chances are 50/50.. why don't you just wait and see. :)

You never know.. they might just reprimand you.. for whatever you did... or didn't do.. :o

if you've botched the job so badly, they'd have fired you by now. My guess is that you're like the rest of us working schlubs ... you do good on the whole, though there are moments where your work isn't stellar and therefore, can improve production/quality.