I look so young, Will others take me seriously?

Hi

I'm 31 and just beginning Grad school to become an Expressive Arts therapist. I have two concerns. The first is that I look extremely young for my age. I get carded everytime I order a drink, and once, when I went skiing, the ticketing guy asked me if was under 16 to get the child rate!!! Can you belive that? Anyway, Do you think, as a therapist, people will have a hard time taking me serioulsy becuase I look so young and they would assume I am not experienced enough?

My second issue is that I do not want kids and am uncertain if I ever want to be married. Is becoming a Marriage and Family Therapist a ridiculous idea for someone who might never have their own experience?

Thanks for the feedback. I love you guys!

I am a therapist and i look young as well..of course I am young, only 25. I work with adults, some twice my age, right now and I can tell you that they actually do take me seriously. I have worked with adolescents before, and that was more of a struggle because they viewed me more as a friend then as a therapist. So it may just depend on the age group you are working with. But everyone's experience is different.

And about them marriage and family issue..no I don't think that it will make a difference that you don't have a husband or family. That doesn't mean you can't be an effective therapist. You have to recognize that you aren't going to have the same experiences with every client. I work with dual diagnosis clients, if you know what that is, and I haven't had an expereince with addiction that every client has. Yes, you can't relate to their exact situation, but you know the appropirate interventions to use. And you could alwasy throw some other experience in there. Like if you have cousins, or newphews, or have been around a child or family, you could use that experience to relate.