Performance review topics

I'd like to address some issues during my upcoming performance review. I've never done this before - I've usually just sat there and absorbed everything they had to say about my performance, but my bosses have some issues too with regards to case management and interpersonal communication with their associates. One of them makes at least one of us cry on a weekly basis (he doesn't know about it, of course!). I know two of my colleagues are preparing lists of things they'd like to discuss, so I want to be equally prepared for this meeting.

I know that I'm my best advocate, so I'd like to be prepared to defend myself against any criticism (while accepting it at the same time) while also providing examples of things I'd like to see changed/improved. Is this appropriate? How do I know whether they will be amenable to such a discussion?

providing examples of things I'd like to see changed/improved

Here's the only aspect I would provide. What I've noticed in business in general, is that most management don't want to hear the problems with no solutions.

If you provide it like a list of changes you think would provide staff with more tools for productivity or improved moral, I'm guessing they would be more amenable to it.

If you provide it like a list of changes you think would provide staff with more tools for productivity or improved moral, I'm guessing they would be more amenable to it.

Bosses love to see things that put money in their pocket.. or make the company more profitable..

Show a boss things that are wrong with him and his company and you will stifle yourself there..

Show a boss how if things were changed or added that you would be more productive and show him how it affects his pocket and bottom line and you will get everything you ask for.

It is all in the presentation.. if you want change then you have to show them how that change will make them more money and not cost more money..