Change of career dilemma, In my company

So anyway recently I found out my company opened a position for a graphic designer - obviously they are looking for someone full-time. Though I graduated last spring with a degree in graphic design I do fulfill the requirements to fill that position. And awkwardly enough my position in the company doesn't involve design. My position/responsibilities is a branch off of that field.

Though my boss knows that I have a degree in that field, I'm surprised he hasn't asked me if I wanted to partake in the opportunity. Though I also know that if I attempted to apply for that position, he would have to find a replacement to fill the position I'm currently in. And there is also a possibility of that position having a lower salary as a graphic designer than the one I'm on now.

I guess the biggest thing that might be alarming to me is job security. If I apply and he hires me, I have a responsibility to maintain a certain level of quality in my work and help push the company forward. And if i don't maintain my level of expertise in this position, I could wind up scrutinizing my place in the company. Though the current position I'm in now has little room for error, and it's more promising towards job stability/security. While that new position is giving me more opportunity to grow as a person and do what I went to school for

My friend tells me I should go for it. Though if I don't apply I could gladly get his foot in the door of the company also since he is in this field. Frankly, this is a big decision here - though maybe I should talk to my boss more about this.

What do you guys think? Has anyone faced a similar dilemma like mine before?